Sing {prompted}

……
We would sit for hours, she and I. Two bottomless coffee cups and battered journals. We would write and talk and drink and talk and write. Life took us in different directions and now she lives a million miles away. Well, 2,997 to be exact.
But still that connection exists and that desire to sit and share our thoughts nags at me.
I miss her.
This is our chance to go back to that coffee shop and those journals.
A random list from the depths of the internet.
A shared prompt. Once a week.

Join us if you’re so inclined. Leave a link in the comments. There is always room in the booth for more.
……

Spring sings to me like a siren. It doesn’t matter the path that I’m on or the decisions I have made. Spring doesn’t care. It sings its song of change and promise and hope. That hope, it gets me every time. After the long, cold, darkness of the winter I hear the whispers of hope in the breeze that no longer chills you to the bone. It’s in the rays of sunlight that warm your soul. And my soul aches to run after it.

Spring’s siren song lures me into a shipwreck every year.

Eat a plant based diet she croons.

Her lilting tones whisper it’s a good idea to plant a ridiculously over ambitious garden from gmo free organic seeds

Sign up to run multiple races that you have in no way trained for dances across my ears in perfect harmony on the wind.

Now, these things on their own are all respectable endeavors. And there are plenty of people who can handle all three of the things at once. Unfortunately with my track record of terrible follow through I am not one of them.

But the song is so beautiful, it calls to me, pulling me in, making me feel invincible. I love this feeling. I love this song. I can’t help but hum along. Maybe this year is the year that I steer clear of the rocks. Maybe this is the year I move past humming and learn to sing along. Maybe I’ll learn the words and make them my own song.

20130409-090347.jpg

……
See what Trisha had to write
……

One thought on “Sing {prompted}

Leave a comment